Welcome to the Migrated Blog

For those following me around the Web you will know that I had a blog on The Gray Matter. Well I have flown the coop (pardon the pun) and found a new home on WordPress.com, and you have found it.

I should explain why I have moved. James and I had a lengthy discussion, that was the first thing. What came out of that discussion were a couple of things. One was that I clearly had different ideas about the site, the blog and what I wanted to do. While I only made suggestions to James he did feel that I was placing a bit of pressure on him. That’s the last thing that I wanted to do. The other thing is that James is a very busy person. He has a growing family, a job (part time but takes full time effort), doing a university degree and as a side thing he manages a home network, web server, email server etc. He doesn’t need to feel any pressure from me. The move is entirely voluntary and James and I are still talking. In fact there was no argument at all. So coming here means that I can generate as much traffic as I like, I can play with HTML a bit, and do my thing.

James did offer to set me up with my own site hosted on a server, while this idea was a good one, it didn’t take him out of the picture. I would have had to rely on James for trouble shooting and code stuff-ups. So after a lot of digging around I have ended up here. There is enough control of the site to be able to do what I want to do and it makes it easy to do it, just right. Plus it uses open source software and I am supporting that community, which for me is a bonus (plus James would like it ;)).

I will continue to support The Gray Matter, James runs a top site and I will contribute from time to time. James has just updated the site with a new very fast server and it will continue to evolve. Hope that all goes well for you mate.

The other thing is that I am really excited about doing my own blog on my own site in my own way. I like WordPress and I am learning the features so visit often. Better still subscribe to the RSS Feed.

I hope that you enjoy the Rooster’s Rail.

2 Responses to “Welcome to the Migrated Blog”

  1. James Says:

    Hey Dave! I like what you’ve done here and appreciate the comments. Let me know if you want me to help out with anything. BTW – my job is actually full time, but I work from home 2 days a week.
    I hope The Coop has plenty of hens for your rooster’s “rail” (ahem). Have you thought of calling the RSS feed something like “Chook Pellets”…geddit?!? I crack myself up 😛

  2. The Rooster Says:

    Mate I really appreciate the visit and the feedback. Sorry about the error with the job – but hey you fixed it!
    I might need some help with code but not much, WordPress is very helpful, active forums and FAQ.
    As far as the RSS name; the feed it automatically generated by the crew at WordPress and I don’t have a say. But Yeah thats a great name – if only I could host WordPress on a server! Oh well one day. Thanks mate.


Leave a Reply

