SkypeIn for Australia

Skype LogoGreat News! Skype announced today that they have made SkypeIn numbers for Australia. So I went off and got one, why not? Aside from the fact that that it is a lot cheaper than through the normal channels, I don’t have to get off my arse and answer the phone if I am on the computer.

You can ring that number from any landline anywhere in the world at the cost of Skype rates, which are dirt cheap. To give you an idea; here in Australia a call anywhere in Oz will cost 0.027 cents per minute (no, the zero is not a mistake).

BUT when you use this number (and you are outside Australia) remember to add the country code, 61.

This is also going to be great for Global Geek Podcast as people can leave Voicemail feedback that we can play on the show. I would prefer it if people would use Odeo as that is easier to include in the show because it is encoded as an mp3 and I can just download it and cut and paste it into the show during the editing.

If you want a SkypeIn number I would be quick; because there isn’t an unlimited supply of numbers. You might have to wait for more numbers to become available if you wait too long.

One thing I forgot to mention is that you get a free Voicemail box for three months when you sign up for SkypeIn and thats a cool freebie if you ask me.

Leave a Reply

