How Readable is The Rail?

This was very interesting and I did not even know tools like this existed. I think it is quite useful, even if it it just for curiosity. A readability test for your blog or any website for that matter. You plug in the url that you want analyzed and it spits out a result. One flaw is that it also includes menu items and title bars and things like that, so you can’t take it as totally 100% accurate. But I think it is a useful tool.

It would seem from my results that the output is only that for the first main page of my Blog. I have certainly written more than 1807 words in total on Rooster’s Rail. But the results certainly provide some interesting reading, about the main blog page anyway.

The screen shot is my results for Rooster’s Rail. I found it a bit hard to find out what to make of the results. But if you read further down afetr this display you will see how the results are derived and what they mean written after each one. There are three main scores.

Readability Screenshot

The Gunning Fog Score, this is how many years of schooling that you would have to do to understand the content. The lower the number the more understandable the content is. I think this was good for my blog as I am aiming not necessarily to be understood and read by everyone or read by everyone. I want intelligent comments and readers. If you scored this on the side of a life-jacket then that would be bad. See what I mean? I think it all has to do with audience.

The second; Flesch Reading Score is a score out of one hundred, the higher the score the easier it is for people to understand the document. Authors are recommended to aim for 60 to 70. I did not shape up too bad here. This balances out the high school grade required that I scored above!

The Third and last result is the Flesh-Kincaid Grade; is like the Gunning Fog score. It is an estimate of the number of years of schooling required for someone to understand the document. This is a bit strange as it is nowhere near the Gunning Fog Score. But I guess it is not totally accurate and you have to experts things like that. If they were averaged out you might get something close.

As I said previously these results also include the menus and titles and so are not a true reflection. For that you would need a document that was text only.

I must acknowledge the way that I found out about this website, I am going to do that with links, just follow the same path I did and see where it takes you. I am doing it that way because it is a real example of how an on-line community works. Don’t worry I won’t be offended if you don’t end up in the same place.

  1. WordPress Bloggers Group FAQ (on FAQQLY’s)
  2. Isulong SEOPH
  3. Jucy Studio’s Readability Test
Leave a Reply

