The Big 20

This week sees show number 20 for The Global Geek Podcast. I am really quite pleased with the landmark. Time has gone very quickly and it only feels like yesterday that I was struggling with HTML, audio editing and all that comes with producing a podcast.

I am actually starting to feel that the work I have done is starting to pay off. Although I should not call it work! Podcasting is fun and rewarding. But yeah you have to put some yards in and make it work if you want to get noticed in a noisy space like podcasting. I have made huge inroads into being noticed in the last two days and the number of bots that are visiting the podcast homepage have gone through the roof! That to me is pay-off. Before the site was only being indexed by about five or so maybe a few more; but now I have to scroll half a page to see the number that are indexing the site and feeds. Bloody good. While not actual listeners it is what gets them. I feel like I have accomplished something.

I am with The Podcast Network now and I feel really at home there. The community it great and very helpful. I do think though that the hosts should talk some more and support each other as much as they can. Minor issue though. Although I do speak regularly with a few of them and that is very encouraging. I feel that I have become quite reasonable at editing and posting show notes. But unfortunately I am a perfectionist and I spend ages getting it just right. That goes with everything I do. I think the podcast now is as good as it has ever been and I am sure that it is going to get better.

This weeks show is huge! I have a big announcement to make and I have… actually make that two big announcements! You will have to listen to it! But I am very encouraged about where the show can go and the potential I have with it. I feel like it was luke warm and now I feel like it might be a warm bath. But the burner is on and I can feel it heating up. That’s how it feels anyway, not necessarily how it is. But it is a good place to be.

I am looking forward to recording the show this week. I have to work over the week end and that is always a bummer but I am glad for work because it lets me do what I am loving doing!

Lorelle: you asked me how I record the podcast. I think that deserves a post all of it’s own, it was and is a drama. One host in Australia and the other one on the other side of the planet! It is not called The Global Geek Podcast for nothing!

Leave a Reply

