Comment Spam is Getting Philosophical

This made me laugh. I was going through the spam today checking for legit comments that were accidently caught and it would seem our comment spammers are try something different.

If you are in the mood for a few words of wisdom, look no further than the caught spam in your Akismet window on WordPress:

“He that serves everybody is paid by nobody…”

“Every man has a fool in his sleeve…”

“That which one least anticipates soonest comes to pass…”

“To come away none the wiser…”

Akismet does a top job and this rubbish that is trying to pass for educated comment is in the spam can. Thanks Akismet. Inventive tactic though, I have to admit.

Don’t know if anyone else goes through their spam, I know I have found a few genuine comments in there a few times. I always check, I feel sorry for the person that wrote the comment and ended up marked as spam. Anyone else check the spam can?

6 Responses to “Comment Spam is Getting Philosophical”

  1. engtech Says:

    I always check too 🙂

    OCD bloggers unite!

  2. provokeit Says:

    ah it’s that confuscious guy again leaving you comments mate…always trying to be a smart @rse with his so called ‘words of wisdom’….

  3. taltalk Says:

    Today I went into my Askimet thingy for the first time in like 2 weeks and of the 15 comments there, only 3 were spam! suddenly many more people are linking to my blog and i’m going up in technorati. Yippee!! Haha.

  4. The Rooster Says:

    Yeah ET I think it is OCD – but eh, I have learned to live with it.

    Yeah taltalk – amazing what you find in there – try doing it with 500! Bloody spammers… but I am getting quick at scrolling through, I can spot a legit at 20 paces now… Cool that you have had a look at your comments and found you have more going for you than you thought, cool.

  5. taltalk Says:

    Well, I’ve only been blogging for a week and a half and have only had 650 views so far, so I guess I’m not out there enough yet to get spammed… But, yeah, it’s nifty to see many more people linking to my blog.

  6. The Rooster Says:

    Never fear the spam will come! Bastard Spammers


Leave a Reply

