Apple Authorize the Term “Podcast”

The Global Geek Podcast LogoAbout two months ago I wrote to Steve Jobs and sent him a cheque for one dollar for the use of the term “podcast”. I did not expect a reply, I got one.

This is a story that I originally carried on The Global Geek Podcast Blog and I do not normally cross post but I thought this was worth a mention. I arrived home yesterday and I found a big yellow DHL envelope waiting for me. I had no idea what it was. Upon opening it I found that I had received a reply from Apple Trademark Department regarding my letter and payment. They were returning the payment and my letter. They also added that:

“Apple does not licence the term “podcast”.”

When this controversy started it was said that Apple stated that they had no objection to the use of the term. However, I think that this is the first time that it has been put in writing. In addition this is not a “rubber stamp” type letter, it is signed in pen by human hand. So it is official then that we can use the term.

I am not sure if this helps Podcast Ready, but I hope it does.

There were a few people out there that thought the original post was a stunt and I did not really send the letter. Well I did, Cam could not believe it when I told him I got a reply from them. Just goes to show that when I say I have done something, I have and will.

Go and check out the full story and the original article. Given the news at the time it was fairly amusing. We are still laughing about it. While you are there check out the latest show for The Global Geek Podcast, it was a blast. Knightwise had way too much coffee, he is still making apologies.

Or you might like to download the show right here.

7 Responses to “Apple Authorize the Term “Podcast””

  1. dickydolittle Says:

    good work fella!!
    copy to mr.laporte i think,
    oh, and can i borrow a buck??

  2. Evil Genius Chronicles » Can We All Relax Now? Says:

    […] So a guy sent Apple money to license the term “podcast” and they said they had no interest in pursing the matter. So, can all the nonsense please stop? The worst offender lately has been Leo Laporte with his “netcast” silliness, which besides being a worse term has the ultimate sin in such a thing – it’s already been used for various unrelated things for a decade. Even Leo can’t stick to it consistently, where he makes a big deal at the beginning of shows and by the middle has forgotten all about it and reverted back to “podcast.” As far as I’m concerned, the terminology stuff is put to bed once and for all. Posted by dave in podcasting (Permalink) […]

  3. CaffiNation 085: Tie-Red at The CaffiNation Podcast Says:

    […] Way to go Dave, Podcast is in the open […]

  4. adsenseforum Says:

    I love the fact that the Guys from TWIT.TV are making a point to use NETCAST. But the problem comes in during the show when Leo still keeps using the word podcast. We just have to face the fact that for the next 30 years people will be using the word podcast. I think apple should be happy about, always reminds me of the product which is something all company’s would want, free publicity.

  5. The Rooster Says:

    Yeah if nothing I really hope that the whole “netcast” things dies a quick and painless death.

  6. Calcanis To Join The Podcast Network « Says:

    […] Just last week one of TPN’s show hosts, Dave Gray, won a battle with Apple in which the term ‘podcast’ became a recognised term that is safe from suit from Apple. Up until recently, there was some conjecture over the term, with rumours that Apple was going intending to impose a tax for use of the term. […]

  7. scouta blog » Blog Archive » McAffee Turns Scouta Green Says:

    […] Well, Rooster has been busy recently being proactive. Just the other week he posted a cheque for $1 to Apple asking for a license to use the term podcast. There had been some concern that they aimed to limit the use of the term, given the recent activity around the use of “pod.” He receive a reply from Apple saying, “Apple does not object to third-party usage of the generic use of the term podcast.” […]


Leave a Reply

